Board of Visitors

The purposes of the Board of Visitors of the Northern Illinois University College of Law are to:

  • Increase awareness of the college's mission and programs within the Illinois legal community, with particular emphasis on the northern tier of the state
  • Serve in an advisory capacity to the administration and the faculty in self-study and evaluation of the college and its educational programs
  • Provide linkage between the college and the Illinois legal community and develop mechanisms for the interchange of ideas between the college and the legal profession
  • Assist in developing strategies for enhancing the resources and financial support of the college
  • Advise the college with regard to recruitment and improvements in the areas of recruitment and retention of students and career counseling and placement

Current Board of Visitors

Matt Pfeiffer ’00, Chair
Pfeiffer Law Offices, P.C.
Wheaton, IL

Hon. Vincent F. Cornelius ’89, Vice-Chair
12th Judicial Circuit
Joliet, IL

Kenya Jenkins-Wright ’03, Secretary
General Counsel, IL Guardianship & Advocacy Commission
Chicago, IL

Hon. Bill Haddad (ret.), Immediate Past Chair
Circuit Court of Cook County
Chicago, IL

Louis G. Apostol ’78
Public Administrator, Cook County
Chicago, IL

Salvatore Barbatano
Of Counsel, Williams Williams Ratner & Plunkett
Birmingham, MI

Hon. Manuel Barbosa (ret.)
U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of Illinois
Rockford, IL

John S. Burke
Partner, Higgins & Burke, P.C.
St. Charles, IL

Kenneth C. Chessick ‘84
Law Office of Kenneth Chessick, M.D., J.D.
Of Counsel: Clifford Law Offices
CEO and Chairman,
Chicago, IL

Kelli Childress
Kane County Public Defender
St. Charles, IL

Hon. Susan Clancy-Boles

Hon. Susan Clancy-Boles
16th Judicial Circuit Court
Saint Charles, IL

Robert K. Downs
Downs Law Offices, P.C.
Chicago, IL

Brent Eames ’09
Eames Law Group
Chicago, IL

Robert W. Fioretti ’78
Roth & Fioretti, LLC
Chicago, IL

Hon. Susan Fayette Hutchinson
Illinois Court of Appeals, Second District
Woodstock, IL

Hon. Thomas L. Kilbride
Justice, Illinois Supreme Court
Rock Island, IL

Richard Lenkov ‘95
Bryce, Downey & Lenkov LLC
Chicago, IL

Mike Maher ‘85
Partner, Swanson, Martin & Bell
Chicago, IL

Mary Milano ‘78
Executive Director, Illinois Guardianship and Advocacy Commission
Chicago, IL

John S. Monical ’94
Partner, Lawrence, Kamin, Saunders & Uhlenhop
Chicago, IL

Cherilyn G. Murer ’78
CGM Advisory Group, LLC
Chicago, IL

Leanne Murphy
Director, Private Label Merchandising
Deerfield, IL

Lonny B. Ogus ’78
Law Offices of Lonny B. Ogus
Chicago, IL

Janet Pioli ‘84
Shareholder, Brinks Gilson & Lione
Chicago, IL

Hon. Henry R. Simmons (ret.)
Managing Partner, Clifford Law Offices
Chicago, IL

Paul Vella ‘96
Vella & Lund
Rockford, IL

Sonni C. Williams ‘99
City Attorney, City of Lockport
Lockport, IL