Presidential Research Professors - NIU - Office of the President

Contact Dr. Baker

Office of the President
Altgeld Hall 300
DeKalb, IL 60115


Facebook     Twitter


The Inauguration of Douglas D. Baker - 12th President of Northern Illinois University

2013 Presidential Research Professorships

Biologist Elizabeth Gaillard, geographer Wei Luo and physicist Philippe Piot have been named recipients of the 2013 Presidential Research Professor, Northern Illinois University’s top recognition for outstanding research and artistry.

“Each of the individuals selected for this honor is recognized as a leader and innovator in their fields,” said Lisa Freeman, NIU Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies.

“All three are very productive scholars, and each has advanced their discipline. But due to their humility and dedication to teaching, they are not as well recognized on campus for their accomplishments as warranted by their national and international reputations. Hopefully this award will help change that.”

The NIU Presidential Research Professorships were established in spring 1982 in recognition and support of the research and artistic mission of the university.

Recipients of this award are selected on the basis of significant and sustained scholarly or creative work, including the achievement of national or international reputation in their individual fields. Up to three such professorships are granted each year, providing budgetary support and released time for research or artistic activities.

After four years as a Presidential Research Professor, each of these eminent faculty members is designated a Distinguished Research Professor.

Click on the names below for closer looks at the 2013 Presidential Research Professors:

Read More >