About Us - NIU - Division of Marketing & Communications

About Us

The Division of Marketing & Communications supports NIU’s internal and external marketing and communication needs:

  • A talented team of writers, editors, designers, photographers, videographers and website developers promotes the university and its programs through advertising, publications, media relations, the niu.edu website, NIU Today and the university's official social media channels
  • Division offices provide professional services and support, including print, web, editorial, graphic design, social media, audio and video to university departments
  • The state government relations team represents the university's budgetary, legislative and substantive interests at the state level
  • The division also serves as the clearinghouse for all public record requests for the entire university

When coordinating the various marketing and communications activities at NIU, an essential goal of Marketing & Communications is to create clear, consistent messages that resonate with all audiences across a variety of channels. As preferred means of marketing and communication continue to evolve, the division is poised to adapt by embracing and incorporating innovation.


Division Staff

Harlan Teller
Interim Vice President
for Marketing & Communications
Altgeld Hall 316
(815) 753-2253
hteller1@niu.edu

Brad Hoey
Director of University Marketing
Swen Parson Hall B12
(815) 753-6667
bhoey@niu.edu

Joan Laurino
Assistant to the Vice President/Chief of Staff
Altgeld 312
(815) 753-2253
jlaurino@niu.edu

Jennice O'Brien
Director of Web Communications
Swen Parson Hall B12
(815) 753-1682
jennice@niu.edu  

Jay Orbik
Director of Media Services
Still Hall 104
(815) 753-6670
jorbik@niu.edu

Paul Palian
Director of Media & Public Relations
Swen Parson Hall B12
(815) 753-7346
ppalian@niu.edu

Mary Lou Read-Dreyer
Interim Co-Director
Office of Publications, Still Hall 110
(815) 753-6070 
mldreyer@niu.edu

Jeff Strohm
Interim Co-Director
Office of Publications, Still Hall 110
(815) 753-1166 
jstrohm@niu.edu