Press Release

Four NIU Law Alumni Appointed to the Bench

December 13, 2011

DeKalb, Ill. – The Northern Illinois University College of Law is pleased to announce the addition of four of its alumni to the renowned list of graduates who serve in the judiciary: Marcy L. Buick (’90), Kathryn D. Karayannis (’88), Diann K. Marsalek (’89), and Jon M. Theisen (’99). Out of nearly 3500 College of Law alumni, NIU Law now has 77 judges that serve or have served throughout the state and across the county.

“Inside and outside of the courtroom, our judges embody the core values of NIU Law--leadership, hard work, fair-mindedness, collegiality as well as an unwavering commitment to diversity, access, and public service,” said Dean Jennifer Rosato. “NIU Law is considered synonymous with accomplished judges who possess an exemplary level of professionalism, and we are excited to congratulate this group of distinguished alumni recently added to the bench.”

Hon. Marcy L. BuickHon. Marcy L. Buick, a 1990 alumna, was sworn in by DeKalb County Presiding Judge Kurt Klein as the newest Associate Judge in the 16th Judicial Circuit of Illinois on September 28, 2011. She leaves the Foster & Buick Law Group after spending 11 years with the firm handling civil litigation and criminal matters. Buick presently serves several courtrooms in Kane County, Illinois as assigned by Chief Judge F. Keith Brown of the 16th Judicial Circuit.

Hon. Kathryn D. KaryannisHon. Kathryn D. Karayannis, a 1988 alumna, was sworn in as an associate judge, also in the 16th Judicial Circuit, on October 17, 2011. She had been working as an assistant state’s attorney in the Kane County office’s child support division before her election to the bench, completing more than 20 years of service to Kane County. Karayannis’ judicial position is new, created after U.S. census results released this year showed a larger population in the area, according to Judge Brown.

Hon. Diann K. MarsalekHon. Diann K. Marsalek, a 1989 alumna, was appointed by the Illinois Supreme Court on October 3, 2011 as a Judge of the Circuit Court of Cook County and was sworn in by Justice Mary Jane Theis on October 4, 2011. Marsalek is assigned to traffic court in the Daley Center. Marsalek worked for over 22 years for the State ofIllinois at the Illinois Attorney General’s Office, Illinois Department of Corrections and for the Illinois Secretary of State.

Hon. Jon M. TheisenHon. Jon M. Theisen, a 1999 alumnus, was selected by Governor Scott Walker to serve as the judge for Circuit Court Branch 4 in Eau Claire County, Wisconsin on October 7, 2011. Theisen began his legal career at the law firm of Herrick and Hart in Eau Claire, where he became a partner in 2004. Before joining as a partner, Theisen was elected District Attorney of Chippewa County, where he was re-elected twice to the position.


For more information, contact:
Melody Mitchell
Alumni Events & Public Relations
(815) 753-9655 or