Francis X. Riley Lecture on Professionalism

Lawrence J. FoxPlease join us for the 19th Annual Francis X. Riley Lecture on Professionalism at 3 p.m., Friday, March 30, at the Northern Illinois University College of Law. 

This year's lecture will be given by Lawrence J. Fox, a partner in the Philadelphia law firm of Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP.  Mr. Fox, who is considered a legal expert in the fields of securities litigation and legal ethics, is currently a visiting lecturer of law and the Crawford Lecturer at Yale Law School. He is the author of a long list of articles that have appeared in regional and national publications, covering a wide variety of subjects with particular emphasis on ethical issues. Mr. Fox is an active member and leader in the American Bar Association (ABA) and has served on numerous committees. He is a former chairman of both the ABA Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility and the ABA Section of Litigation as well as member of the ABA Commission on the Evaluation of the Rules of Professional Conduct.

The lecture will be followed by a reception and the 17th Annual Public Interest Law Society Auction.

The Francis X. Riley Lecture on Professionalism was established in 1994 to honor the late Professor Emeritus Riley, who devoted his life to the law and legal education.  The lecture series brings distinguished speakers to the Northern Illinois University College of Law to discuss current issues relating to the legal profession.  Previous speakers include:

Cherilyn Murer 2011
Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan 2010
Honorable John W. Darrah 2009
Professor Emeritus Gordon B. Shneider  2008
Justice Modibo Ocran 2007
Patrick J. Fitzgerald, Esquire 2006
Jim Ryan, Esquire 2005
Professor Bruce R. Jacob 2004
Honorable Thomas L. Kilbride 2003
Professor Robert F. Drinan, S.J. 2002
Nancy L. Kaszak, Esquire 2001
Professor Richard C. Boldt 2000
Cheryl Niro, Esquire 1999
Jerold S. Solovy, Esquire 1998
Professor David B. Wilkins 1997
Honorable Abner J. Mikva 1996
George E. Bushnell, Jr., Esquire 1995