Honorary Law Alumnus/a Award

The Honorary Law Alumnus/a Award may be bestowed on individuals who are not graduates of the Northern Illinois University College of Law, but who have demonstrated extraordinary commitment to the college and the communities it serves.  Recipients need not be attorneys.  This award began in 1996.

Criteria for Nomination
Individuals who are not graduates of the College of Law who have demonstrated extraordinary commitment to the College of Law; demonstrated service to their community or profession; possess outstanding professional accomplishments; and who consistently demonstrates professional integrity.

Previous Honorary Law Alumnus/a Awards were presented to:

2014 – Norden S. Gilbert

2013 – James J. Alfini

2012 – George Shur

2012 – Ellen Chessick

2011 – Betty DeGunther

2010 – Hon. William J. Haddad

2010 – Hon. Susan F. Hutchinson

2006 – Susan Kuo, Professor

2001 – Frank A. Perrecone

2001 – Sue G. Mellard

1998 – Ralph C. Capparelli, Illinois House of Representatives

1998 – Justice John L. Nickels, Illinois Supreme Court (Ret.)

1998 – Francis X. Riley, NIU Professor Emeritus

1997 – Gerald W. Shea, former Illinois State Representative

1996 – Michael Madigan, Illinois State Representative, Speaker of the House